boards of trustees; special schools are administered by trustees appointed by the provincial cabinet. No legal provision is made for separate schools.

The compulsory ages are 7 to 16. Elementary-secondary education lasts 12 years, and is organized into a six-year elementary segment, and three years each of junior and senior high school. However, where enrolment is low the pattern of eight elementary and four secondary years prevails.

Vocational students may take either a pre-employment commercial or industrial program. Alternatively, students may complete the university entrance program and continue for an additional year in a special commercial program, or those following the industrial program may spend half their time in the university entrance program. There is also an occupational entrance program commencing at grade 7 and continuing until grade 10 or 11, during which period students receive part of their training on the job in business or industry.

Three community colleges (Red River, Assiniboine and Keewatin) offer postsecondary terminal career programs and vocational courses at the trades level. Although no provision is made for university-transfer programs, graduates from the career programs have, in special circumstances, been granted credits applicable to a university program. Training for nurses qualifying them for the RN diploma is provided at Red River College as well as five hospital schools.

The province has three universities but only the largest, the University of Manitoba, has a faculty of graduate studies. In addition, four colleges (two associated with universities) grant degrees to students training for church ministry.

6.4.8 Saskatchewan

Two departments – education and continuing education – report through the same minister, but have separate structures. The latter was established in 1972 to handle all post-secondary matters.

The province is divided into eight education regions, and subdivided into 66 school units plus non-unit rural districts, villages, towns and cities. Local administration is based on districts, which may be set up for public and Protestant or Roman Catholic separate schools. School boards of five to eight members are elected in each district for three-year terms. Education in northern areas is administered by a department for Northern Saskatchewan.

Attendance is compulsory from 7 to 16 years, although kindergarten is available, particularly in larger centres. The traditional 12 elementary-secondary grades have been reorganized into four three-year divisions. Prospective grade 12 graduates must write standard departmental examinations.

High schools offer vocational subjects in general, industrial arts, commercial or special terminal programs, none of which qualify students for university entrance. The content of such courses is co-ordinated with the province's two community colleges and three technical institutes. Agricultural courses are given throughout the province in co-operation with the provincial agriculture department and apprenticeship training is provided in conjunction with the labour department. All nursing instruction is given by community colleges.

The University of Saskatchewan and the University of Regina operate undergraduate and graduate degree programs. In addition, four theological colleges (two associated with the University of Saskatchewan) have degree-granting power.

6.4.9 Alberta

In 1972 responsibility for education was divided between the education department and the department of advanced education and manpower, each with its own minister. The former deals with the elementary and secondary levels. The latter has jurisdiction over universities, post-secondary non-university institutions, vocational training centres, adult education provided by school boards and other public or private agencies, apprenticeship programs, federal manpower programs, and programs offered by licensed business or trade schools.

Local administration is based on the school district, although responsibility has largely been assumed by school divisions and counties. There are 60 school divisions